Januar 8 – Riding an Icelandic pony

So today I went to ride a pony, from Eldhestar farm in Hveragerði. I had never rided a horse before.

We set off at 09:30, when the sky was still bluing.

20160108_110534

The mountains surrounding Hveragerði.

Hveragerði is surrounded by low mountains called Reykjafjall (smoke mountain), and the underground is full of lava, so there were steams rising from some hot spring fields.

My horse was brown, with a small white spot on their forehead. They kept lagging and several times, the team leader had to hasten them to catch up. They also walked too close to low-hanging branches sometimes, which was unfortunate for me.

I also had the irresistible urge to draw cutie marks on their blank flanks.

20160108_111213(0)

That’s the only photo of me I’ll post here.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

