Desember 26 – Where is the Cat?

I went out to see if some shops are open, now that’s it’s one day after Jól, but most of the shops were still closed.

While walking through the streets, I noticed a black cat. Closely I followed their pawsteps, hoping for some adventure to escape this sad, dreary world.

Unfortunately there was no adventure to be found, but at least I got these pair of peekaboo photos.

20151226_140042

Where is the cat?

20151226_140044

Here they are!

I left for Lækjargata, where I spotted a candle stand that looks like a bong.

20151226_140924

I recognize bongs because I know a stoner pony.

(Fun fact: drug laws are very strict in Iceland, for some reason.)

The lake surface had been frozen solid in the past two days, and many were skating and walking on it.

Selfie stick confirmed to be used by Icelanders (I heard them speaking Icelandic).

Near Eymundsson bookstore on Skólavörðustígur, there was a bench with this plate on it:

20151226_144107

Reykjavík is the UNESCO city of Literature

As the hacker mum I’ve always wanted but never had (my biological mum is a lame government official) once said, “Never scan a QR code from a stranger without investigating first.” I took a photo of the code for further analysis. After returning home, I processed the image to extract the code before decoding it through ZXing Decoder Online. The whole process is shown here.

20151226_144116_code process

Unfortunately, it decodes to a shortened url. As my hacker dad I’ve always wanted but never had (my biological dad is a lame government official) once said, “Never open a shortened url from a stranger without investigating first.” I used CheckShortURL to check where it redirects to:
http://bokmenntaborgin.is/qr/skaldabekkir/kvenskald/
OK, it’s pretty legitimate. What does it contain? ÍSLENSKAR SKÁLDKONUR (Icelandic poet women).

Did I really have to go through that much precaution over a QR code? Not really, but I want to make my imaginary hacker parents proud.

Standard

Leave a Reply

